Charity Miles and National Parks

Visiting a national park or two is fantastic and makes for great memories. It also makes for ample opportunity to brag to your colleagues how badass you are. “Yeah, I hiked the Grand Canyon, no big deal.” Well, in planning my trip to all national parks and national forests, I wanted to double-up on that ‘badass’ factor. What if I could raise money for charities I believed in WHILE hiking these incredible locations? That’s when I discovered Charity Miles. It’s an app on your phone that tracks your miles walked, ran, or biked, and translates those miles into dollars for your chosen charity.

For my trip, obviously I will be racking up miles for the National Park Foundation and The Nature Conservancy, but I will also be rucking with my rucksack to raise money for U.S. veterans. Wounded Warrior Project has signed up with Charity Miles to raise funds for their many initiatives benefiting wounded vets and their families. Are there other deserving veteran-focused nonprofits out there, sure, and they should sign up with Charity Miles so we can walk, run, hike, bike, and ruck for them. Coming from a family with several veterans and a long history in serving this country I felt it was fitting to do what I can as a civilian to give back in a meaningful way. Slapping a bumper sticker and forgetting about it just wouldn’t cut it for me. No, rucking through Big Bend National Park, Death Valley, and the likes of Yosemite and Yellowstone seem more impactful.

As my adventures kick off and my rucksack is loaded up I will be posting my hiking maps, fundraising benchmarks, etc. here and hopefully inspire you to do the same. It’s not about me, it’s not about one person, it’s about all of us pitching in.

For more on what rucking is, check out this great demonstration with tips thrown in.

Wounded_Warrior_Project_logo.svg

Charity-Miles

One thought on “Charity Miles and National Parks

Leave a Reply

