Wilderness Emergency Medical Technician – NOLS

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.11.27 PM

So in my research for Seasonal Park Ranger, Wilderness Ranger, and National Park Ranger, I realized there was a requirement I was sorely lacking: EMT training. That was fine. What wasn’t fine was the thought of taking another 6 months out of my cross-country NPS tour in order to earn my WEMT certification at a college. There was also the hefty $13,000+ price tag to reconcile. That just would not do.

After some twiddling online, I found a few concentrated certification programs. The one that I kept gravitating towards more and more was NOLS. The National Outdoors Leadership School has a long held reputation for being a leader in wilderness training, including mountaineering, search and rescue, wilderness first aide, first responder, and of course, wilderness emergency medical technician. They have micro courses that are a week or so long deep in the wilderness, courses that are 3 months in duration, 6 months, and even 1 year. The program I’m looking for so happens to be just 1 month. Fully immersive, challenging, in field, and highly regarded. The price is also manageable. After my stint in Big Bend National Park for the next 6 months, I’ll have no problem saving up that cash.

All I know is that I have always enjoyed helping people when most run away, and my goal is to ultimately work my way up to ranger. This may help that effort.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.11.35 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.11.40 PM

Yeah, the price may seem steep, considering it’s 1 month, but look at what all you learn:

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.12.16 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.12.07 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 7.12.26 PM

I’m playing it by ear at the moment, since the classes fill it fast and I won’t have the finances till December. If it’s possible to reserve my place early spring 2018, I will, if not, I may need to work my second assignment for a month or two, then head out to the NOLS campus for this training. Either way, 2018 is going to be an exciting year!

You can find more on this program and many others offered by NOLS here.

Leave a Reply

