Adding Academia to My National Parks Journey

As spring moves in and summer fast approaching, the time for me to hit the road and begin my nationwide journey to our National Parks, Monuments, and forests is almost here. I’m prepping on all fronts, and that includes academic studies. Visiting our national parks in itself is a great learning experience, but I wanted to take things to the next level. Since I am setting out to volunteer time to each park I visit, I did some research and found that taking these courses would not only help me in the application process but, obviously, greatly enhance my experience as a volunteer. That’s why I have been busy the past couple of weeks bashing out some courses by the Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands and Arthur Carhart National Wilderness Training Center at Indiana University. I am currently working on the Firehydrant course.

In addition to Indiana University, I have also taken the Small Water Craft Safety course from the American Red Cross and planning to take Basic Life Support certification course.

I’m on my way!

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 4.42.40 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-01 at 6.18.10 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-05 at 3.35.49 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.16.41 PM

Leave a Reply

